Skip to Main Content

Periodic Table: Halogens


Halogen, any of the six nonmetallic elements that constitute Group 17 (Group VIIa) of the periodic table. The halogen elements are fluorine (F), chlorine (Cl), bromine (Br), iodine (I), astatine (At), and tennessine (Ts). They were given the name halogen, from the Greek roots hal- (“salt”) and -gen (“to produce”), because they all produce sodium salts of similar properties, of which sodium chloride—table salt, or halite—is best known. Continue reading from Encyclopedia Britannica

Link to Fluorine Resource Guide
Link to Chlorine Resource Guide
Link to Bromine Resource Guide
Link to Iodine Resource Guide
Link to Astatine Resource Guide

Return to the Periodic Table of Elements Resource Guide Series