Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Resources: Legal Resources in Connecticut

undefined

Checkout the Legal Databases...

Link to Legal Information Reference Center databaseLegal Information Reference Center
‚Äč
Law-related articles and indexing for law reviews, legal newspapers and journals.

Click here for How to Use the Legal Information Reference Center Tutorial


Link to Nexis Uni databaseNexis Uni 

Primary source legal material includes law review articles, case law, and regulations.

Legal Publications in the Library!
Link to Black's Law Dictionary in the Catalog
Link to Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law in the catalog
Link to Get It Together in the catalog
Link toEverybody's Guideto Small Claims Court in the Catalog
Link to Represent Yourself in Court in the Catalog
Link to 101 Law Forms for Personal Use in the Catalog
Link to Legal Writing in Plain English by Byran A. Garner in the Catalog
Link to On Your Case by Lisa Green in the catalog
Link to Nolo's Essential Guide to Divorce in the catalog
Link to Building a Parenting Agreement that Works in the catalog
Link to Quickens WillMaker and Trust in the Catalog
Link to 8 Ways to Avoid Probate in the Catalog
Link to Contracts in the Catalog
Link to LLC or Corporation in the Catalog
Contact a Connecticut Law Library...

undefinedConnecticut Law Library Network
The Law Libraries are dedicated to providing access to quality legal resources and assistance to all Connecticut residents.

 

undefinedUniversity of Connecticut Law School  Thomas J Meskill Law Library  
Hartford, CT
 
Provides access to legal materials and reference to the bench, bar and members of the public.  Open evenings, Saturdays & Sundays during the academic year.

Published Connecticut Law Library Resource Guides 

Law by Subject:  Each law subject page is a collection of links to Internet resources that provide information on a specific legal subject.  Pages may include statutes, regulations, court rules and information agency material  Sample topics include: Landlord. Tenant, Divorce, Probate Law and Small Claims. 
Research Guides:  In-depth research guides quote extensively from and link to statutes, court rules and case law and citations to treatises and encyclopedias.  Topics include specific parts of Civil Practice, Juvenile Law, Family Law and Property Law.  

Connecticut Law...

The General Statutes of Connecticut (Online Access)

The General Statutes of Connecticut are the official codified public acts (as well as special acts that impact the public) of the State of Connecticut. 

Links for State Regulations and Local Ordiances...

Connecticut Regulations
Rules are based on and meant to carry out specific piece of Connecticut legislation.  Regulations are enforced usually by the regulatory agency mandated to do so.

Connecticut Ordinances and Charters by Town
Rules are based on and meant to carry out specific piece of local legislation.

Explore Connecticut's Judicial Services...

The Connecticut Judicial Branch offers services to individuals trying to navigate the legal process.  Services below are just several examples of the range of resources available to Connecticut residents.

 

Court Service Centers  Located at each Judicial District Courthouse, the centers provide resources and assistance to court patrons.  Staff by Judicial Branch employees, several who are multi-lingual.  Staff provides procedural, docket and case information, notary services, and can also assist with proper completion of court forms.

Referral Services  Legal clinics are manned by volunteer attorneys providing patron assistance in legal matters including Divorce/Custody, Foreclosure and Small Claims.  

Best Lawyers in America - Connecticut 2021

Connecticut Bar Association - List of Pro Bono Organizations