Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Westport Public Art Collections: About WestPAC

Westport Public Art Collections

What is WestPAC?

Westport Public Art Collections ("WestPAC") are a cultural asset of our town, with over 1,800 works of art in a broad range of media — paintings, watercolors, drawings, prints, illustrations, cartoons, photographs, sculptures and WPA murals — by notable American artists, giants of the international art world and important artists who established their homes and studios in the Westport-Weston community.

The original works of art are displayed throughout Westport's school and town buildings —hallways, libraries, classrooms, lobbies, offices and conference rooms — to create visually stimulating learning and work environments. By observing art first-hand and every day, students, educators, staff and residents can pursue their own path of enjoyment and discovery. Continue reading from Westport Public Schools

 

Click Here to Browse WestPAC's Collections

About the Westport Arts Advisory Committee

Established in 1994 by the late artist and educator Burt Chernow with founding members Ruth Steinkraus Cohen, Ann Chernow, David Rogers, John Simon and Ann Sheffer, the Westport Arts Advisory Committee (WAAC) is committed to increasing public awareness of the Town's cultural resources, past and present: its artists, artworks and institutions. Appointed by the First Selectman, WAAC advises on the preservation of Westport’s legacy as an arts community, oversight of the Town Art Collection and ways to increase the visibility of the arts in our community. The WestPAC Committee, in cooperation with the Westport Arts Advisory Committee and Friends of WestPac, Inc., works diligently to preserve the works of art for future generations of Westport students and residents. Continue reading from Westport Arts

Look Familiar? 

If so, you've probably seen them hung up in public buildings around town! Click on a work of art below to learn more about it.
Link to Colored Ribbons by Leonard Everett Fisher from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Prism Series Diane Davenport Alexander from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Circles by Charles Michael Daugherty from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Man's Head by Burt Chernow from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Fly by IV by Leonard Everett Fisher from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Coco by Tom Armstrong from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Cockenoe Island by Susan Malloy from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to The Illness by Nancy Reilly from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Black Drawing by Ellen Marson from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Ducks by Leonard Everett Fisher from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Apple and Kettle by Stevan Dohanos from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Truck and Shack by Bernard Fuchs from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Fertile Period VII by Alberta Cifollelli from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Flying Fish by Jean Woodham from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Rafting by Roe Halper from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Portrait of a Young Woman by Ward Brackett from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to A Different Territory by Maggie McKinnickinnick from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Jogger at Longshore by Larry Silver from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections
Link to Black Circle on White by Sophie Acheson from Westport Public Schools Digital Collections

Return to the Visual Arts Collection Resource Guide Series