Skip to main content

Cool Tools: Building a Solid Foundation for Kids' Reading

undefined

undefined

The Juvenile Series & Sequels
database is maintained by some industrious librarians at a really cool library system around Kansas City.  The database
contains almost 5000 series, searchable by author, subject, series title or book title - wow!

(Psssst!  If you are looking for the newest title in a series, you can also check an author's website.)

undefined

A list of current and former Connecticut Children’s & YA Authors & Illustrators, lovingly maintained by the

Criteria for authors on this list are:
1) at least one of his/her books must be published by a mainstream publisher (not self-published)
2) at least one of his/her books must be in the Library of Congress catalog.

undefined


Book Wizard

This free database from Scholastic contains over 70,000 book suggestions and is searchable by Guided Reading level (the current system of choice for Westport Public Schools), plus DRA, Lexile Measure or grade level.  This database also functions as a catalog for shopping, but no purchase is required - ask your Library for help borrowing any good books that you find!

Level It  $$$
This is a commercially produced app which can be downloaded on to either Apple or Android phones.  Scan a book's ISBN to view the Lexile, Guided Reading,
grade level, or DRA levels for the book.  There is a fee for downloading.
$$$


Leveled Books Database
A-Z Teacher Stuff  features Guided Reading and Reading Recovery levels for more than 9,000 titles, plus Accelerated Reader levels for more than 11,000 titles.


Lexile Find A Book
Free database searchable by author, title, keyword or ISBN.


undefinedLiteracy Leveler
$$$
This is another commercially produced app which can be downloaded on to either Apple or Android phones.
Supports Lexile®, DRA (Developmental Reading Assessment®), and Guided Reading leveling systems.  Scan a book's ISBN and see its level or search for a book by title, author, or level.  The database focuses on grades K through 8. There is a fee for downloading. $$$

undefined

undefinedCaldecott Medal
for artists of the most distinguished American picture books for children


 

undefinedNewbery Medal 
for authors of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children


Nutmeg Book Award 
winners chosen by Connecticut kids


 

SEUSS Geisel Award 
for most distinguished American books for beginning readers published in English in the United States