Skip to main content

Nobel Laureates


Jean-Pierre Sauvage, University of Strasbourg, France

Sir J. Fraser Stoddard, Northwestern University, IL

Bernard L. FeringaUniversity of Groningen, the Netherlands

"for design and synthesis of molecular machines"

Learn more 


          Oliver Hart, Harvard University, Boston, MA

Bengt Holmstrom, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

         "for their contributions to contract theory"

          Learn more    


Bob Dylan

         "for having created new poetic expressions within the great American song tradition"

            Learn More


Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos

"for his resolute efforts to bring the country's more than 50-year-long civil war to an end, a war that has cost the lives of at least 220 000 Colombians and displaced close to six million people."

Learn more


Physiology / Medicine:                                                                                                                                                                        

Yoshinori Ohsumi

"for his discovery of mechanisms for autophlagy"

Learn more


David J. Thouless, University of Washington, Seattle WA (one half of prize)

F. Duncan M. Haldane, Princeton University, NJ (second half of prize)

J. Michael Kosterlitz, Brown University, RI (second half of prize)

"for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter"

Learn more