MedlinePlus.gov - Home page offers a medical dictionary. Click on the Drugs and Supplements tab on the left of the homepage screen to browse drug names alphabetically.
Kaiser Health News Science Daily
MedlinePlus.gov - Click on the Health Topics tab to browse conditions alphabetically or by body system.
Merck Manual Consumer Version - Peer-reviewed content written by 100's of medical experts in easy-to-understand language. Browse medical topics, drugs, and symptoms.
Mayo Clinic - Information on disease and conditions symptom checker, tests and procedures, drugs and supplements. All content written by Mayo Clinic health professionals.
NIH Senior Health - Health and wellness information on topics of interest to older adults. Site is designed for use by older adults. Link from this website to the National Institute on Aging for many more health and aging publications and news. Site points to NIH publications in different languages.
Womenshealth.gov - Fact sheets and resource links on topics ranging from acne to yeast infections.
Kidshealth.org - Articles written for parents, young children and teens on health, behavior, and child development. Pediatrician reviewed.
American Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics - Resources for healthy eating. Locate a dietitian near you.
Nutrition.gov - Government information on food and nutrition. Food composition database.
NutritionFacts.org - "Bite-sized" videos on trending and conversational nutrition topics.
ClinicalTrials.gov - Find clinical trials of approved and investigational drugs.
DailyMed.com - Package inserts for FDA-approved prescription drugs.
Dietary Supplements Labels Database - Information from manufacturer's labels for on- and off-market products. Search by ingredient, product name, or manufacturer.
Drugs.com - Comprehensive information on prescription and OTC medications and natural products sold in the U.S.. Pill identifier, interactions, veterinary drugs, price comparisons, coupons, and more.
FDA.gov - Best resource for drug recalls and approvals. Agency approves all drugs, biologics, and vaccines approved for marketing.
GoodRx.com - Compare retail drug prices. Coupons.
MotherToBaby - Information on the effects of medications, herbals, and other exposures on the pregnant woman and her child.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health - Brief fact sheets with information on herbs and botanicals.
National Institutes of Health Office of Dietary Supplements - Evidence-based information on vitamins, minerals, herbs and other dietary supplements.
NLM Drug Information Portal - Links to different databases covering 49,000 drugs from entry in clinical trials through FDA approval and into the marketplace. Prescription, OTC, supplements, investigational drugs, and drugs of abuse.
Pillbox - Visually ID pills and capsules.
Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Sites - Use this site to find safe and legitimate online pharmacies.
Lab Tests Online - Learn why lab tests are ordered and what the results mean.
RadiologyInfo.org - Covers over 200 diagnostic, interventional radiology, nuclear medicine, and radiation therapy tests and procedures.
American Osteopathic Association - Basic information on board-certified osteopathic physicians.
Connecticut Department of Public Health Licensing Database - Profiles of physicians licensed in CT. Includes disciplinary actions, sanctions, and lawsuits. Database also indicates license status of other health professionals.
Healthfinder.gov - Find databases of physicians, dentists, and other healthcare providers.
Healthgrades - Search for physicians by specialty or procedure. Basic information plus legal actions and fines, and patient ratings.
MedlinePlus.gov - Use the "Directories" link from the homepage to find doctors, dentists, and many other types of health professionals.
Overseas Medical Help - The state department offers guidance for finding a physician or hospital overseas.
Physician Compare - Search for physicians who accept Medicare by specialty, practice or body part. Includes hospital affiliations.
U.S. News and World Report Doctor Finder - Basic information on over 800,000 licensed, practicing physicians in the U.S..
American Hospital Directory - Free database of financials, utilization statistics, and other benchmarks for over 7,000 acute care hospitals in the U.S..
Consumer Reports - Compare hospitals at a glance for patient safety, patient experience and patient outcomes.
CT Mirror Hospital Database - Compare basic data for CT hospital. Includes rates of infection and links to hospital investigations.
Healthgrades - Patient satisfaction ratings for many quality measures for inpatient stay at U.S. hospitals.
HRSA Health Center Program - Find a reduced price or free primary health care clinic.
Leapfrog - Nonprofit watchdog group surveys 2,600 acute care hospitals of many measures of patient safety and quality of care.
Medicare.gov Hospital Compare - Quality of Care at Over 4,000 Medicare-certified hospitals. Includes complications, deaths, readmissions, and use of medical imaging. This site also covers nursing homes and rehab centers.
Symcat Hospital Shopper - Find the best hospital for the kind of surgery you will undergo.
U.S. News & World Report Best Hospitals - Analysis covers clinical specialties, procedures, and medical conditions. Hospitals are ranked nationally, and regionally within states and metropolitan regions. This site also rates rehab centers.
EthnoMed - Medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups.
HealthReach - Culturally relevant information in multiple languages and formats. Supported by the NLM.
WebJunction Health Websites for Spanish Speakers - Webliography of sites offering health information in Spanish. Created by Altus Public Library.
NHS Choices - Websites recommended by the UK National Health Service
S*P*I*R*A*L - Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages. Supported by Tufts University Hirsh Library.
