Skip to main content

Dig into Databases: Home

Dig into Databases: Business Edition featuring Foundation Directory Databases on Wednesday, January 3, 2018 6-7 PM in the Seminar Room

Foundation Directory Online Professional and Foundation Maps are easy-to-use premier data tools that help nonprofits find great grants and partners in philanthropy. Susan Shiroma, Senior Social Sector Librarian at Foundation Center, provides a general overview of both products. You will learn how to find a Foundation Center Funding Information Network partner in your community who provides free onsite access to these tools. Attendees will compare the differences between using the Foundation Directory Online Professional database and Foundation Maps, our data visualization platform, to find foundation partners locally and worldwide. Time is available at end of orientation for attendees to explore both tools.

Susan Shiroma, Senior Social Sector Librarian, provides leadership and support for Foundation Center public services for social sector and philanthropy professionals in the New York City metropolitan region. Susan’s achievements since joining the organization in 1995 include directing the national expansion of Foundation Center’s proposal writing seminar program and managing prospect and philanthropy research for over 1,000 nonprofit members of Foundation Center’s historic Associates Program. She is a popular and engaging Foundation Center training expert and public speaker. She is has an M.L.S. from Columbia University and a B.A. from Barnard College.

Dig into Databases: Medical Edition on Monday, January 22, 2018, 12-1 PM in the MakerSpace Balcony.

Discover how to use MedLinePlus, ABMS (American Board of Medical Specialists), and ReferenceUSA to find information on physician specialists and certifications, diseases, conditions, and wellness issues, as well as healthcare businesses.

Dig into Databases: Business Edition featuring ReferenceUSA on Wednesday, February 7, 2018 6-7 PM in the Seminar Room.

Learn to create effective marketing plans, conduct essential competitive analysis, raise funds and locate people in order to expand & grow their book of business. The online database provides real-time access to more than 44 million businesses and 270 million consumers.